Sony Music (UK) release TV advertised 2CD Doris Day set to coincide with BBCtv biography

March 6, 2002 1 Comment

This 2CD set received a high profile, television advertising campaign all to tie in with the broadcast by BBC television of their Doris Day biography “Hollywood Greats“. Themed around songs that all originate from various Hollywood movies and musicals, it is sumptuously wrapped up with black/white photos from the 1950s and ’60s and includes two picture discs. The compilation briefly charted on the UK ‘Top 75’ at #73.

Click the following links to watch the TV commercial: Real Video | Real Audio.

41 Hollywood Greats
Sony Music UK  – Cat #5079632
Order this 2CD from

Disc 1

  1. It’s Magic  (1947 Version) (from Romance on the High Seas)
  2. Move over Darling  (from Move Over Darling)
  3. Secret Love (from Calamity Jane)
  4. Tunnel of Love (from Tunnel of Love)
  5. Let’s Face the Music and Dance (from Follow the Fleet)
  6. Three Coins in the Fountain  (from Three Coins in the Fountain)
  7. Night and Day (from Gay Divorcee)
  8. On the Street Where You Live (from My Fair Lady)
  9. I’ve Grown Accustomed to His Face (from My Fair Lady)
  10. They Say It’s Wonderful (from Annie Get Your Gun)
  11. Lover Come Back (from Lover Come Back)
  12. Singin’ in the Rain (from Singin’ in the Rain)
  13. A Wonderful Guy (from South Pacific)
  14. Something Wonderful (from The King and I)
  15. As Long as He Needs Me  (from Oliver)
  16. Pillow Talk  (from Pillow Talk)
  17. I’ll Never Stop Loving You (from Love Me Or Leave Me)
  18. Black Hills of Dakota (from Calamity Jane)
  19. Teacher’s Pet (from Teacher’s Pet)
  20. The Deadwood Stage  [Whip-Crack-Away]  (from Calamity Jane)

Disc 2

  1. Whatever Will Be, Will Be [Que Sera, Sera] (from The Man Who Knew Too Much)
  2. Hold Me in Your Arms (from Young At Heart)
  3. Cheek to Cheek (from Top Hat)
  4. Over the Rainbow (from Wizard of Oz)
  5. I Speak to the Stars (from Lucky Me)
  6. Pretty Baby (from I’ll See You In My Dreams)
  7. The Very Thought of You (from Young Man with a Horn)
  8. I Want to be Happy (from Tea For Two)
  9. Makin’ Whoopee (from I’ll see You In My Dreams)
  10. I Know a Place (from April In Paris)
  11. No Two People (from Hans Christian Andersen)
  12. Love You Dearly (from Lucky Me)
  13. April in Paris (from April in Paris)
  14. White Christmas (from Holiday Inn)
  15. This Can’t Be Love (from Billy Rose’s Jumbo)
  16. Swinging on a Star (from Going My Way)
  17. High Hopes (from Antz)
  18. Till We Meet Again (from On Moonlight Bay)
  19. When I Fall in Love Party’s Over (from Bells are Ringing)
  20. Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps (Quizas, Quizas, Quizas)  (from Strictly Ballroom)
Archive News, New Releases
One Comments to “Sony Music (UK) release TV advertised 2CD Doris Day set to coincide with BBCtv biography”
  1. […] To coincide with this transmission of this documentary Doris Day’s record label Sony Music released a new 2CD set entitled “Doris Day – 41 Hollywood Greats“. […]

Official events celebrating Doris Day’s 97th Birthday!

Get tickets for the Doris Day Animal Foundation’s (DDAF) fun-filled Friday and Saturday night events in...

New expanded 3CD edition of Doris Day’s bossa-nova album ‘Latin for Lovers’

The top British independent album re-issuer Cherry Red Records has licensed Doris Day’s timeless ‘Latin for...

2019 Doris Day Calendar launched today!

Here it is folks the 2019 Doris Day Calendar! This our 11th calendar features yet more...