Doris Day’s 1956 hit single “Que Sera Sera” to be inducted into the 2012 GRAMMY Hall Of Fame

November 22, 2011 No Comments

With just a couple weeks to go until the US release of Doris Day’s new album “My Heart” the singer has just received another big honour from The Recording Academy.

Continuing its tradition of preserving and celebrating great recordings, The Recording Academy announced yesterday that Ms. Day’s signature tune “Que Sera Sera” (Whatever Will Be, Will Be) would be one of the newest additions to its GRAMMY Hall Of Fame.

“We are especially honored to welcome this year’s selection of some of the most influential recordings of the last century. Marked by both cultural and historical significance, these works truly have influenced and inspired audiences for generations, and we are thrilled to induct them into our growing catalog of outstanding recordings.” said Neil Portnow, President/CEO of The Recording Academy.

“Que Sera Sera” (Whatever Will Be, Will Be) was written by songwriting duo Jay Livingston and Ray Evans. The academy award winning song notably featured in the Alfred Hitchcock thriller The Man Who Knew Too Much which starred Doris Day and James Stewart. In 1956, Doris Day released a studio recording of the song on Columbia Records. Her single was a hit on both sides of the Atlantic having reached #2 on the American Billboard Hot 100 chart and #1 on the UK Singles chart. To this day, the multi-million selling single remains as one of Doris Day’s most successful and best loved solo recordings.

“Que Sera Sera” is Ms. Day’s third recording to be inducted into the GRAMMY Hall Of Fame. Her other songs previously honoured were “Sentimental Journey” and “Secret Love”.

Other 2012 GRAMMY Hall Of Fame inductees include Bruce Springsteen, civil rights activist Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Gloria Gaynor, the Rolling Stones and Tina Turner, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young and Paul Simon. All the 2012 selections were made by a special member committee comprising eminent and knowledgeable professionals from all branches of the recording arts, with final approval by The Recording Academy’s National Board of Trustees.

Tune in to the 54th Annual GRAMMY Awards live from Staples Center in Los Angeles on Sunday, Feb. 12, 2012, at 8 p.m. ET/PT on CBS.

USA Edition – Order from
European Release – Order from

  1. Hurry, It’s Lovely Up Here (Written by Alan Jay Lerner & Burton Lane) +
  2. Daydream (Written by John Sebastian) +
  3. Way I Dreamed It (Written by Bruce Johnston & Terry Melcher) +
  4. Heaven Tonight (Written by Bruce Johnston) +
  5. My One & Only Love (Written by Robert Mellin & Guy Wood)
  6. My Heart (Written by Bruce Johnston & Terry Melcher) +
  7. You Are So Beautiful (Written by Billy Preston & Bruce Fisher) +
  8. Life Is Just A Bowl of Cherries (Written by Ray Henderson & Les Brown)
  9. Disney Girls (Written by Bruce Johnston) +
  10. Stewball (Traditional Folk Song) + [BONUS TRACK on the USA EDITION]
    [Duet: Doris Day with Terry Melcher]
  11. My Buddy (Written by Walter Donaldson & Gus Kahn)
  12. Happy Endings (Bruce Johnston & Terry Melcher) +
    [Sung by Terry with introduction by Doris Day]
  13. Ohio (Betty Comden, Adolph Green & Leonard Bernstein)

+ Previously Unreleased Song

Tags: , , , , , , , , News

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Official events celebrating Doris Day’s 97th Birthday!

Get tickets for the Doris Day Animal Foundation’s (DDAF) fun-filled Friday and Saturday night events in...

New expanded 3CD edition of Doris Day’s bossa-nova album ‘Latin for Lovers’

The top British independent album re-issuer Cherry Red Records has licensed Doris Day’s timeless ‘Latin for...

2019 Doris Day Calendar launched today!

Here it is folks the 2019 Doris Day Calendar! This our 11th calendar features yet more...