Doris Day scores another chart hit on The Official UK Albums Chart with her latest release ‘The Ultimate Collection’

March 11, 2012 1 Comment

This weekend Doris Day has returned to The Official UK Top 40 Albums Chart with her new career-spanning compilation album – a project compiled under the watch of the American star.

In 2011, the Grammy Award-Winning Singer notably achieved a ‘Top 10’ hit with her comeback album ‘My Heart’. Her follow up release with Sony Music UK is a compilation featuring her biggest hits and best loved classics. It made an impressive debut at #36 during only its first week of release – proving Doris Day’s music is still very much in demand across the UK.

We are thrilled that Doris is having such wonderful success on both sides of the Atlantic. But we do want to alert the execs at Sony Music UK  to one crucial thing and that is how many of you felt “The Ultimate Collection” was “primitively” packaged. We tend to agree with the general view that this is one of the poorer repackages of Doris Day’s Best – many have come before, often at a lower “budget” price but usually offer fans more for their buck such as a few more stunning images of their beloved star throughout – this album on the other hand offers nothing beyond the cover shot and a whole lot of daisy yellow.

May we please respectfully draw the attention of those concerned to the new double CD from Sony Music America – entitled ‘With A Smile & A Song‘. This fabulous “rival” release due out on Doris Day’s birthday this year features some of the most eye catching album artwork we have seen for some time. You’ll be hearing more from us about that release in due course!

On a final note though, if you are looking for a last minute Mother’s Day gift we still feel ‘The Ultimate Collection’ with its lovely selection of songs would make a delightful treat for your Mum. Best of all it is widely available from online music stores, HMV and UK supermarkets. Who knows maybe next week Doris Day will be back in the ‘Top 10’?!

Released: 5 March 2012
Order from

  1. Move Over Darling
  2. Whatever Will Be, Will Be [Que Sera, Sera]
  3. Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps  (from the ‘Strictly Ballroom’ film soundtrack)
  4. Heaven Tonight
  5. Oops (as featured in the recent British TV commercial)
  6. Pillow Talk
  7. Sentimental Journey
  8. Cuddle Up A Little Closer
  9. A Very Precious Love
  10. Secret Love
  11. Don’t Take Your Love From Me
  12. Teacher’s Pet
  13. It’s Magic
  14. The Song Is You
  15. The Deadwood Stage
  16. Love Me Or Leave Me
  17. Fly Me To The Moon [In Other Words]
  18. Dream A Little Dream Of Me
  19. You’ll Never Walk Alone
  20. Lullaby Of Broadway
  21. Close Your Eyes
  22. Everybody Loves A Lover
  23. Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered
  24. When I Fall In Love
  25. My Heart
Tags: , , , , News
One Comments to “Doris Day scores another chart hit on The Official UK Albums Chart with her latest release ‘The Ultimate Collection’”
  1. […] song choices but crucially the price is not that dissimilar to the recent UK release (‘The Ultimate Collection‘) – so the US set offers super value for […]

Official events celebrating Doris Day’s 97th Birthday!

Get tickets for the Doris Day Animal Foundation’s (DDAF) fun-filled Friday and Saturday night events in...

New expanded 3CD edition of Doris Day’s bossa-nova album ‘Latin for Lovers’

The top British independent album re-issuer Cherry Red Records has licensed Doris Day’s timeless ‘Latin for...

2019 Doris Day Calendar launched today!

Here it is folks the 2019 Doris Day Calendar! This our 11th calendar features yet more...