The Range selects Doris Day duet ‘Anything You Can Do’ for 2017 Christmas TV Advert!

November 5, 2017 No Comments

Some super festive news from Great Britain! As the 144 store UK retailer The Range have selected Doris Day’s 1962 recorded duet “Anything You Can Do” with the American singer and actor Robert Goulet (from the musical ‘Annie Get Your Gun’) to be the soundtrack to their 2017 Christmas TV advert! So expect to hear a lot of darling Doris this Christmas in the UK!

Calling all of Doris’ British fans I think it’s time to get DD back in the charts #DorisDayforChristmasNo1 – download & stream the song today!

Amazon UK:

The musical Annie Get Your Gun is loosely based on the life of American sharpshooter Annie Oakley (1860-1926). It was songwriter Jerome Kern who was originally tasked with the job of writing the music for the stage production. The project was however passed to Irving Berlin after Kern unexpectedly died. In 1946, the show opened to glowing reviews on both sides of the Atlantic. A few years later Metro Goldwyn Mayer (MGM) adapted the show for the big-screen. The film version starred actress Betty Hutton and became one of the most successful musical-movies of the 1950s. A decade later, it was Doris’s turn to record a new version of this classic score with her Columbia Records stable mate Robert Goulet. The two singers laid there vocals separately with Doris completing her contribution for the project on the 8 October 1962. The orchestra was most probably overdubbed in New York.

A digitally re-mastered version of the song is also available from the 2003 Doris Day compilation album ’25 Movie Greats’ which I compiled and wrote liner notes for Columbia/Sony Music UK. I am proud that after 14 years this collecton is still selling and available to buy! The album combines Doris’s own mega-hits “It’s Magic” (from ‘Romance on the High Seas’), “Secret Love” (from ‘Calamity Jane’) “Move Over Darling” with her renditions of songs from other famous films.

Label: Columbia / Sony Music UK
Amazon UK:
Amazon US:

  • 01. It’s Magic 03:25
  • 02. Move Over Darling 02:41
  • 03. Singin’ In The Rain 02:37
  • 04. Secret Love 03:39
  • 05. Pretty Baby 02:59
  • 06. Whatever Will Be, Will Be 02:53
  • 07. Anything You Can Do 03:33
  • 08. The Very Thought Of You 03:03
  • 09. As Long As He Needs Me 04:02
  • 10. The Party’s Over 02:53
  • 11. Getting To Know You 03:04
  • 12. The Sound Of Music 03:20
  • 13. A Wonderful Guy 02:13
  • 14. When I Fall In Love 02:54
  • 15. Lover Come Back 02:18
  • 16. High Hopes 02:18
  • 17. The Deadwood Stage 03:13
  • 18. I’m Not At All In Love 04:06
  • 19. Tunnel Of Love 02:12
  • 20. Pillow Talk 02:10
  • 21. White Christmas 02:40
  • 22. You’ll Never Walk Alone 02:30
  • 23. Three Coins In The Fountain 03:19
  • 24. I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles 02:14
  • 25. Teacher’s Pet 02:38
Tags: , , , New Releases, News

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

2018 Doris Day calendar raises over $4000US for Doris’s beloved Animal Charity!

Our 2018 Doris Day wall calendar is now sold out. This was our 11th calendar project...

Doris Day’s 96th Birthday Fundraiser Event

Tickets are going fast for Doris Day’s 96th Birthday fundraiser event in Carmel (CA) which takes...

Doris Day Animal Foundation launch their 2017-edition Christmas tree ornament!

Doris Day Animal Foundation (DDAF) have just launched their 2017 Christmas tree ornament which features a...